Wknd. KTBuzzon Inspired Living Indulge City Times KT Mobile KT ePaper KT Competitions Subscribe KT
Khaleej Times
Khaleej Times Google Plus Page Khaleej Times Facebook Page Khaleej Times Twitter Page Khaleej Times on Instagram
  Inspired Living
  Parent Talk
  Used Cars
Home > IPL News
Kolkata beat Delhi to reach IPL final

(AFP) / 23 May 2012

Jacques Kallis and Sunil Narine shared four wickets to bowl Kolkata Knight Riders into the Indian Premier League final with a comfortable 18-run victory over Delhi Daredevils on Tuesday.

South African paceman Kallis and West Indies spinner Narine each finished with 2-24 as Kolkata restricted Delhi to 144-8 in their 20 overs after posting 162-4 on a slow pitch in Pune.

Delhi lost hard-hitting openers Virender Sehwag (10) and David Warner (seven) with 24 runs on the board before Sri Lankan Mahela Jayawardene and Naman Ojha (28) steadied the innings with a 59-run stand for the third wicket.

They suffered a big blow in the 15th over when Jayawardene was stumped off left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdulla after hitting six fours in his 33-ball 40.

Delhi needed 46 runs to win in the last four overs with six wickets in hand, but faltered against Kallis and Narine.

Kolkata earlier plundered 56 runs in their last four overs to post a competitive total, with Yusuf Pathan cracking two sixes and three fours in a 21-ball 40 not out and Laxmi Shukla making an unbeaten 24.

Kolkata made a good start after electing to bat when skipper Gautam Gambhir (32) and New Zealander Brendon McCullum (31) added 48 runs for the opening wicket off 5.5 overs.

Gambhir, who pulled pacemen Umesh Yadav and Varun Aaron for sixes, also hit three fours in his brisk 16-ball knock before he was run out, while McCullum fell soon after smashing left-arm spinner Pawan Negi for a six.

Kallis contributed a 33-ball 30 before being caught in the deep by New Zealander Ross Taylor off Yadav.

Delhi will now meet the winner of Wednesday’s match between Mumbai Indians and defending champions Chennai Super Kings on Friday. The final will be played in Chennai on Sunday.


Kolkata Knight Riders:

Brendan McCullum c Warner b Negi 31
Gautam Gambhir run out (Venugopal Rao) 32
Jacques Kallis c Taylor b Yadav 30
Shakib Al Hasan c Ojha b Pathan 1
Yusuf Pathan not out 40
Laxmi Ratan Shukla not out 24

Extras (lb 2, w 2) 4

Total (for four wickets in 20 overs) 162

Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Gambhir, 5.5 overs), 2-87 (McCullum, 12.4), 3-91 (Shakib Al Hasan, 13.4), 4-106 (Kallis, 15.6)


Irfan Pathan 4-0-20-1
Umesh Yadav 4-0-37-1
Morne Morkel 4-0-37-0
Varun Aaron 4-0-H-0
Pawan Negi 4-0-18-1

Delhi Daredevils:

David Warner c McCullum b Shakib Al Hasan 7
Virender Sehwag c McCullum b Balaji 10
Naman Ojha c Gambhir b Bhatia 29
Mahela Jayawardene st McCullum b Iqbal Abdulla 40
Venugopal Rao c Bhatia b Kallis 13
Pawan Negi st McCullum b Narine 14
Ross Taylor c Das b Kallis 11
Irfan Pathan not out 6
Morne Morkel c Bhatia b Narine 0
Umesh Yadav not out 1

Extras (b 4, lb 4, w 5) 13

Total (for eight wickets in 20 overs) 144

Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Warner, 1.6 overs), 2-24 (Sehwag, 2.1), 3-83 (Ojha, 10.2), 4-108 (Jayawardene, 14.4), 5-120 (Venugopal Rao, 16.5), 6-133 (Taylor, 18.5), 7-142 (Negi, 19.3), 8-142 (Morkel, 19.4)


Lakshmipathy Balaji 2-0-11-1
Shakib Al Hasan 4-0-36-1
Jacques Kallis 4-0-24-2
Sunil Narine 4-0-24-2
Iqbal Abdulla 4-0-24-1
Rajat Bhatia 2-0-16-1

Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders, who chose to bat
Result: Knight Riders won by 18 runs, qualify for final
Umpires: Billy Doctrove (West Indies) and Simon Taufel (Australia)
TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)
Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

For more news from Khaleej Times, follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/khaleejtimes, and on Twitter at @khaleejtimes

comments powered by Disqus